Did you know Sullo & Sullo Attorneys have MORE NOT GUILTY JURY VERDICTS at Houston Municipal Court than any other Law Firm (2009-2014, 2017, 2018)?
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges in the state of Texas can be very serious. If you have a child under the age of 21 who has been arrested for DUI in Texas—or if you are under the age of 21 and are facing DUI in Texas charges—it is important that you speak to a knowledgeable Houston DUI attorney as quickly as possible. Speaking to an experienced Sullo & Sullo Houston DUI attorney as quickly as possible allows you to minimize the penalties you are facing for your DUI in Texas charges. No matter whether the DUI is for drugs or alcohol, an experienced Houston DUI criminal defense attorney is crucial to the outcome of your charges.
DUI vs. DWI in Texas - In the state of Texas, a person of any age can be charged—and convicted—of a DWI if the driver’s BAC is 0.08 percent or higher, or if the person appeared to lack the normal use of mental and physical faculties due to the ingestion of alcohol, illegal drugs or even prescription drugs. DUI in Texas charges apply to a person under the age of 21 who has driven after drinking or taking illegal or prescription drugs. The state of Texas has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. This means that even the smallest amount of alcohol or drugs in a minor’s system can trigger DUI in Texas charges.
This means there is no legal limit—like the 0.08 BAC for a DWI in Texas—for a driver under the age of 21. The smallest amount can trigger a DUI in Texas, or a level of 0.08 percent or higher can trigger DWI in Texas charges. The penalties for a DWI in Texas are considerably more severe than the penalties for a DUI in Texas. Because of this, it is in your best interests to allow a Sullo & Sullo Houston DWI attorney to defend your charges following your Harris County arrest. Our goal will be to prevent you from spending time in Harris County jail, or having a Harris County criminal record which could follow you for many years to come.
Penalties for a DUI in Texas - If you are convicted of a DUI in Texas, the penalties you will face will depend on your age. If you are less than 17 at the time you are charged with a DUI in Texas, the offense is a Class C misdemeanor. If you are convicted of the DUI in Texas when you are 17 or younger, you could face a fine as large as $500, a driver’s license suspension of sixty days, and 20-40 hours of community service. You—along with your parents—could also be required to attend an Alcohol Awareness Course.
If you are between the ages of 17 and 20 at the time you are charged with DUI in Texas, you will face a Class B misdemeanor. The penalties you will face will depend in part on whether you have any prior infractions as an underage driver. If you do have prior convictions, you could face a fine as high as $2,000, could be sentenced to jail for a period of 72 hours to 180 days, and could face a driver’s license suspension of up to one year. If you are allowed to have an ignition interlock device installed and agree to community supervision, your driver’s license suspension could be reduced to 90 days, with community service from 40-60 hours and the necessity of attending an Alcohol Awareness Course.
You may be eligible for an alternative for DUI in Texas charges, although these alternatives vary from county to county and are primarily reserved for low-risk offenders whom the judge feels would benefit from rehabilitation rather than harsh penalties. You are not eligible for deferred prosecution if you have two or more juvenile DWI in Texas offenses, and are only eligible if you are being charged with a Class A or Class B misdemeanor and are considered a low-risk, first-time DUI offender. Deferred prosecution for DUI in Texas charges could involve counseling, community service and restitution.
If you are charged with a Class C misdemeanor, you may be eligible for teen court—a voluntary program which requires community service and involvement in the judicial process. Once you have completed participation in teen court, your DUI in Texas citation will be dismissed. Under Texas implied consent law, an underage driver who refuses a BAC test may be placed in jail until a bond is posted or the underage driver appears before a judge in juvenile court. A BAC refusal will also result in a driver’s license suspension of 180 days, or if the driver happens to be unlicensed, he or she may experience a delay in obtaining a driver’s license.
Getting Help from Sullo & Sullo Houston DUI Lawyers - If you have been charged with a DUI in Texas, it is extremely important that you speak to an experienced Sullo & Sullo Houston DUI attorney as quickly as possible. We are Houston criminal defense lawyers with payment plans and will work hard on your behalf to minimize the possibility of spending time in Harris County jail or having a Harris County criminal record which can prevent you from living your life as you had planned. We will deal directly with the Harris County district attorney on your behalf, and if you are eligible, we will seek out alternatives to prosecution. Our highly knowledgeable DUI attorneys have been helping drivers in your situation for many, many years. Our goal is the best outcome possible on your behalf and we will work aggressively to minimize the adverse consequences of your DUI in Texas charges.